Create & Bea

A new adventure 

I am in the process of expanding my business. 

And I am terrified. 

I don’t do failure. 

I am learning everything I can about business. I am working with a very kind and patient man named Al from my local SCORE program. He is my business mentor. He has faith in me and my new venture and that scares me so much. 

I have a hard time learning business related paperwork and general business processes. My strengths are creating and imagining and decorating and learning. Having to document every small thing and placing it in a file or format…. ugh, it’s just so much brain power. 

I know that with Al’s help and my dad’s help, I only have to get it set up and then it will be done forever. It just is so daunting to me, so soul sucking. 

So I’m trying and it’s hard. I want to prove to myself that I can learn this, I learn all day every day. Did you know that ants rest for 8 minutes every 12 hours? Ya I learned that. Because I was curious and looked it up. 

I also have a hard time that once I get an idea in my head, after I’ve spent a significant amount of time researching it, to change my opinion. I’m stubborn as a bull at that point. 

God love Al because he suggested I purchase cheaper equipment to start with and then build it up later. I was resistant. Heavily resistant. But I did as he asked and researched cheaper options. Because I want this started, like yesterday, I really looked into this. After everything I’ve researched, I still feel that the quality and support and size of equipment would be better purchased from the company as a bundle, albeit not the most expensive bundle, the cheaper bundle. I don’t want to get stuck with a cheap piece of equipment that doesn’t do what it should for as long as it should and not have any support if it breaks down. 

If I do this, I want to do it right. 

*sighs* So this is where I have been. And this is what I have been doing. I really hate that I can’t focus on the more… not important but more paperwork side of this. It’s like a cowlick in my personality. Unruly and un-trainable. I hope my passion and zest for this venture will help make up for something my brain lacks. 

Simultaneously, my wreath making has kind of spiked and I’m up to my elbows in mesh and ribbon. I’ve got pumpkins made. I’m making snowmen next week. I’ve got sports wreaths and custom orders including an 8 foot cemetery moselum swag. I’ve never made a snowman and I’ve never made a swag. And I’m going to learn and I’m going to make them and I’m going to have such fun! 

Here are some of the things I’ve been busy with. Including my custom faux stained glass! I tried a new technique and loved it! Also some of my headstone saddles in use. 

Later kids. Make good choices 😉

This entry was published on August 6, 2017 at 3:53 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

